Got up early 100 miles west of Des Moines to make it back to Vincennes in time for "ride night" with our biker buddies. We got into Vincennes 10 minutes before they were set to leave.
We didn't even have time to go home first so after quick hugs and such off we went back to Illinois for dinner. On the way to dinner we had the closest call of the several close calls we had over the last 18 days. The lead bikes stopped really quickly and one of the bikes went into oncoming traffic lane and a car spun around in a circle, I almost took to the ditch to avoid hitting the guy in front of me. Nothing like riding on unfamiliar roads and varying terrain for 7000 miles to just come home and crash. Thank God no one was hurt.
Our other close calls: I almost cleaned off a guard rail on a twisty road in California with my knee and Robby almost got ran into the median today by a car that didn't see him on I80, we are very thankful to be home safe. ;-)
Stats:
States -->Indiana, Illinois, Missouri, Kansas, Colorado, New Mexico, Utah, Arizona, Nevada, California, Oregon, Idaho, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Iowa, and then back through Illinois and finally Indiana. 16 states in all!
Miles --> Chris has 7002 miles, Robby has 6950 miles. We have no idea why? We stuck together the whole trip. Robby said it is because Chris drives like a drunk. Chris says it is cause she swerves around pot holes that Robby drives right over. You be the judge. ;-)
Wildlife --> Robby said there was a lot, Chris didn't see much.
Haybales --> About a million and four different types. Actually five if you count the new straw bale snakes we saw in Idaho.
Skydiving --> One jump from a perfectly good airplane. Well, actually the plane didn't look so good after all.
Trees driven through --> One very large tree with a pre cut hole, not one we made by a crash.
Mountains climbed --> One very tall mountain with very rough roads! Pike's Peak was Robby's favorite thing though, so it was worth it, all 14, 110 feet of it!
Gas Stops --> approximately 54, we stopped getting receipts cause they were weighing us down.
Awesome friends that let us stay with them or use their house --> 5, thanks so much Bryan and Bea, Julie and Kelly, Brenda and Mike, Mike N, and Lenny and Kathy! You were all so very hospitable. Your sharing of your homes made our trip so much better, you have no idea.
Postcards sent to the kids back home --> Robby would answer this as, "Seriously? She bought them every time the kickstand went down!" I sent several post cards to my brother's kids and the little girl I mentor. Who doesn't love to get post cards!
Thanks for joining us on this adventure. It was fun to get texts, emails, and calls from several readers to let us know how much they liked it or to ask where the next one was. ;-)
Chris and Robby! CIAO!
Thursday, August 6, 2009
Day Eighteen: Iowa to Indiana!
Posted by Chris at 8:17 PM 0 comments
Wednesday, August 5, 2009
Day Seventeen: Iowa
We just got to a hotel in Iowa at 2330, we are tired and cold soaked. Should make it home tomorrow. 6300 miles so far. Short blog cause fingers are frozen.
Posted by Chris at 9:22 PM 0 comments
Tuesday, August 4, 2009
Day Sixteen: Riding around Sturgis and making new friends.
Late last night Robby and I went to Wendy's to grab a bite and I smelled my sweatshirt and said this stinks! He said it doesn't stink, that is the smell of freedom baby! I said it smells like exhaust actually. ;-) So for today our song is Bob Seger's Roll Me Away, one of my favorites:
We rolled across the high plains
Deep into the mountains
Felt so good to me
Finally feelin free
We got up and motivated early enough to have breakfast with some of our Knox County friends that are here...see photo above. We rode all day with them. Even though we stayed locally we did over 200 miles. Started out in Deadwood, went to Rushmore, to Crazy Horse and then to Sturgis to shop. A very large storm rolled in though and I beat feet to get back to the hotel. I lost Robby somewhere shopping and also the other boys, so I literally raced the storm back to the hotel. I lost by a minute and got a little bit wet. As soon as I parked I saw a lady saying it was gonna hail, to take cover. I did and left my poor bike out in the weather. It didn't hail, but the winds got up to 70 MPH. I called Rob and left him a message to not ride to stay wherever he was. He didn't get the message. He said the lightning was so cool and he thought he was gonna get struck a time or two.
Robby called about 45 min later and said he was here and he was downstairs. He was chatting with a Purdue grad that was giving him a hard time for being a dumb IU guy riding in the rain. I went down and met up with Robby and the people that we chatted with last night when we got in. We decided to go to the bar with them and talk some more since they were so nice. ;-) Found out they are from Texas, who doesn't love Texans? We just got back from spending a couple of hours hanging with our new friends. Robby found out that they lived in the same town as his idol, Marcus Latrell. Between the Purdue and Latrell topics we had some really nice chatting! ;-)
All in all (other than the getting wet) it was a great day of old friends and new ones.
We are gonna head out of here tomorrow afternoon and see how far we make it east.
Chris and Robby
ps. I found out that you can't leave comments and I can't figure it out. You wanna leave us one, send an email to us (jetgirl727@yahoo.com)
Posted by Chris at 9:41 PM 0 comments
Monday, August 3, 2009
Day Fifteen: Bozeman to STURGIS!
We slept like rocks for 10 hours!! Got up and a had a message from an old high school friend that lives in Billings. He said he was going to Bozeman...and here we were in Bozeman and headed to Billings. I called him and we saw that it was not going to work out for us to meet up but we did get to wave at one another from across the interstate going 85 miles an hour! Great to see you David for a second or two. ;-)
I called my only other Billings friend when we went to lunch at the Montana Brewery in downtown Billings. She and I used to go there after our flights into BIL. Irony, she was in Bozeman!
We hit the road running for North Dakota. We could have headed through Wyoming straight for Sturgis, but we had the time and neither of us had ever been to North Dakota. It was only a little over 100 miles out of the way and this ride is all about adventure, so off we went for the land of hay bales and oil wells. It was very windy across Montana and the Dakotas today. We had VERY straight roads today so the wind just made our "how long can you ride with no hands contest" more interesting. Robby won by the way. He rode through most of North Dakota with no hands. :-)
We posted all 3 photos we took today cause Dan O said our posts are too boring without photos!
Covered 600 miles again today. We are at 5532 now. Still having fun and still laughing with and at one another. :-)
Chris and Robby
Posted by Chris at 10:09 PM 0 comments
Sunday, August 2, 2009
Day Fourteen: Boise to Bozeman
We got up bright and early and took up in a convoy with Lenny and Kathy to McCall, ID to pick up their son John from camp. It was a very scenic drive but short on bathrooms. ;-) We got to the camp and then John rode with me to the first restaurant we stopped at in McCall. It was too packed so since it was stressful to have a check airman's son on the back of my bike I asked him to ride with Robby. Better for my career I think. :-) We rode to a neighboring town and had a nice brunch with the Burliles.
Robby and I took off north to Montana all along rivers the entire way. It was like being in the movie "A River Runs through It." Very pretty ride. We did stop at a gas station and ran into a real biker gang. Right when I pulled into this two pump station these 10 guys stared at me. It might have been the Celine Dion playing on the radio or just the audacity of being a girl not riding on the back, not sure. They were scary. Robby said they all had guns on them. There was a rider there (not with the gang) with one of those BMW, high clearance bikes that had Japan plates. He is doing a 4 year tour of the world. Everywhere! It was insane. He started his tour in 2007! And we thought we had been out a long time cause the moon was a sliver when we started and now it is almost full. We are wimps. We also ran into yet another guy that was riding from coast to coast on his bicycle...crazy people I tell ya.
On this beautiful and very curvy road we got behind these two RV's that slowed us all up a lot. One of them pulled over in the slow lane to let us pass. The "bounder" RV decided he was fast enough apparently. Robby didn't agree with him and passed him in a spot that I would not. I don't like passing on corners even if you can see. There was a straight away and I started around him and he turned on his left turn signal! I backed off and he then waved me around.
About 20 miles down the road we pulled over and took photos of Welcome to Montana and Robby got this look on his face and said, oh no, we have to go now. I turned around and much like Robin Williams in RV when he sees the Gornicke's coming down the road, there was the Bounder rolling down the road. We didn't make it in front of him, but got around him in short time this time around.
Hit the interstate at Missoula and hammered down for Butte. We got there and we were not tired yet, so headed for Bozeman and this is where we are now. ;-)
600 miles today, total is up to 4910 miles so far. More than two thirds finished now! STURGIS tomorrow! Hope we don't run into our gang friends again.
Ciao!
Posted by Chris at 10:06 PM 0 comments
Saturday, August 1, 2009
Day Thirteen: Skydiving in Boise!
Day Thirteen and most people would be freaked out about the 13 and not jump out of an airplane, but not Robby!
We got up early this morning after staying up late last night and chatting with Lenny and Kathy to head to the Harley shop to get our oil changed (it has been over 4000 miles afterall!) Then we were off to the drop zone! Lenny has made so many jumps he is a pro at this. He is not a tandem jump master though so Robby got strapped to a guy named Kevin who Lenny assured us was a great guy with lots of experience. Lenny did go up with them and jump out at the same time. The video that they shot from the Kevin's arm camera was awesome! Lenny was right there floating along with them. I stayed on the ground and took several photos of them coming in and landing. Since I have broken one ankle and severely sprained another I chickened out! ;-) A couple of photos are attached above and most are on Facebook.
We got our bikes and headed back to the house to chill. Yesterday wore us out. We had awesome steaks and Robby has finally found a beer that is almost as good as Busch Light. His new love is Alaskan Amber, but you can't get it in Indiana. I guess I am going to have to start being his beer mule on my Alaskan routes like I am the tea mule for his mom from Iceland. ;-)
Gotta go to bed, we are off to Butte, Montana tomorrow! Lenny and Kathy are going to pick up their son John tomorrow north of here and we are gonna convoy (Rubber Ducky) up to McCall with them and have brunch before parting ways. We have had a lovely time at their house. It is wonderful to recover from our death march just chilling out (well after leaping from a perfectly good airplane--Robby.)
Til tomorrow!
Posted by Chris at 8:43 PM 0 comments
Friday, July 31, 2009
Day Twelve: The Death March
We left Fortuna, CA and headed north to Eureka in the 1/10th of a mile fog along the coast. It was a chilly 53 degrees, but soon heated up to 103 near Redding, CA. We got stuck in construction delays and curvy roads for miles on end. There is no good road from the coast to Boise!
We rode for 14 plus hours and logged a little over 700 miles today. I feel it right now. We would feel a little worse except that we ran into a bicyclist that started in Connecticut and was now on the Oregon/Cali state line! Wowza!
We did find the most desolate road in the country today! Highway 395 north from the state line of Oregon for the next 100 miles is nothing land!!! It was insane. We passed about 5 cars in over 100 miles. It had a stinky lake that stretched for 20 miles. PLUS, Robby said he had no radio station for 100 miles either. Not a road I wanna go down again.
We saw many beautiful sites today, but no time to photo. We took two photos at state signs and that was it. We ended our ride pulling into Lenny's garage and he had beer in hand! Good times.
We will be here for a couple of days, Robby is gonna jump out of a perfectly good airplane tomorrow! Insane!
Ciao.
Posted by Chris at 10:45 PM 0 comments
Thursday, July 30, 2009
Day Eleven, Part Two, Redwoods
We made it to Leggett, CA home of the Chandelier Tree that you can drive through. What a massive tree! It was really amazing. We each took turns driving through the tree and then I even took a video of Robby going through it. We saw an SUV with a big tour pack on the top that looked like it was gonna get stuck.
After that we headed up near the Avenue of Giants and drove through some incredibly tall and massive trees. It is truly like being surrounded by giants! Again, I wished I could just snap photos of what I am seeing all the time to share, but we couldn't and it was getting dark and cold so we pressed on to our hotel.
Tomorrow we are going to try to make it to Lenny's house in Idaho. Wish us luck, it is 690 miles.
We have over 3500 miles on us now. OVER HALF WAY!!!! The bike's compass should point to the big E from now on.
Ciao!
Posted by Chris at 10:28 PM 0 comments
Day Eleven, Part One. San Fran
We started the day about 100 miles south of San Fran. When I woke up I saw that the high temp for San Fran was going to hit all the way from the current temp of 57 to 58 degrees. Wow! Gonna be a cold one. We slept in a bit, cause we are kind of worn out! Got a move on though and missed most all the traffic going into San Fran. We took the 101 straight into downtown. We were headed over the Golden Gate but we detoured to Fisherman's Wharf first for some photos of Alcatraz, the Sea Lions, Pier 39, and the like. It was fun, Robby hadn't seen any of that before. I kept wanting him to say "the Rock" like Sean Connery, but he wouldn't play along. ;-) We took several photos. They have all been posted to Facebook for those peeps.
We left the Pier to go to the Bridge and I realized I needed gas again. Finding a gas station in downtown San Fran is actually kind of hard. We found one and headed off through the Presidio and then over the bridge. The last half of the bridge was covered in a shroud of f0g. It was so cool. It was one of those times I wish I could have just stopped to take a photo, but unfortunately we could not.
After our foggy and chilly Golden Gate Bridge crossing we headed north to the Redwoods. The traffic came to a stand still and yet another "helpful" Californian told us that bikes can share the lane and go between the cars. I folded in my highway pegs and gave it a go. It was just a little to close for comfort for our big bikes though. If I had my V-rod I wouldn't have been so nervous. I was just waiting for a person texting while stuck in traffic to decided to change lanes and smash me. Not too much fun.
Traffic cleared some and we headed to Leggett to the drive through tree...see next post.
Posted by Chris at 10:20 PM 0 comments
Wednesday, July 29, 2009
Day Ten: SoCal to Middle Cal...is that what they call it?
We got up early with Mike to go meet his brother and check out some cool airplanes. Of course this was AFTER we went to Starbucks to get some caffeine for the day. Had a fun morning, but we were off to travel west til we hit water and then north and had to get a move on.
Mike gave us directions to go through downtown LA for a more scenic route, but then stressed that we don't want to miss the road signs cause we could end up in a very bad place and get shot. After talking to someone who cares about me and being told that wasn't a bright idea, we opted for I10 straight to Santa Monica Pier. The traffic wasn't too bad until we got close and then it was the typical LA parking lot on the interstate.
We made it to the PCH (Pacific Coast Highway) and headed north. We took the PCH up through Monterey, CA ,where we are now. Every once in a while you had to go over and pick up the 101 but the majority of the day was spent on the 1. It was a very twisty road after San Simeon north. About 60 miles of tight curves. Robby loved that. He got in the lead way before it turned curvy, but that was a mistake. He missed our turn twice. The first time I followed him and caught up and told him we needed to turn around, the second time I just went ahead and turned and figured he would miss me sometime and come back and find my brightly colored bike sitting here at the missed turn. It only took him a minute to miss me. ;-) I told him he was not ever allowed to point out any missed wildlife to me again since apparently we have figured out that I read the signs while he is looking for Bambi.
Robby left me behind when we got into the tight turns. You can sure tell he is 22 and doesn't have a mortgage or any of those thoughts of disibility pay while cornering. :-) Speedy! He pulled over to wait for me two or three times. Each time we put on more clothes. Crazy that yesterday when we left Vegas it was pushing up to going over 100 degrees and we were wearing as little as possible and today I had on four layers by the time we got here and my teeth were chattering.
We had a beautiful viewing day. Rob had never seen the Pacific Ocean so that was new for him. I asked him if he was excited and he said what do you want me to do cry, do a cart wheel? We did see a little seal that was floating on his back and flipping his flippers and sticking his tongue out at us when we stopped near Hearst Castle.
More tomorrow. Have around 3200 miles so far. I forgot to check the exact mileage before we came up.
Nite!
Posted by Chris at 10:09 PM 0 comments
Day Nine: a Recap (longer blog)
Last night was just a little something to let everyone know we were still alive. ;-)
We got up very early in Vegas and left the very inviting digs that Brenda was letting us use. We were starting to fall in love with that house and the little casino that was in the neighborhood so we got up before dawn and left HOT Vegas and headed west.
We arrived at my friend Mike's house in Rancho Cucamonga around lunch time, which worked out great cause Mike took us to lunch! ;-) We then had to let him go do some stuff and we ended up catching a movie at the big mall just to stay cool. Met up with Mike again after the movie and went to dinner and to further Robby's education of beer. The kid only drinks Busch Light, which Mike (the beer conniseriour) thinks is just awful! We got a sampler of different beers at a little local brewery and made Robby pick a darker one. We texted his best friend with a photo and his bud thought he was drinking oil. Too funny.
We had a great visit with Mike. He has been off work for some time and I had missed seeing him. ;-) One of my best friends said this was my "visits to furloughed pilots around the country" tour, it kind of seems like it so far. ;-)
So other than the mention of the gun battle in the little short blog that about covers it for our Day Nine.
Now to write for day ten...
Posted by Chris at 10:01 PM 0 comments
Tuesday, July 28, 2009
Day Nine...i think.
Am blgging from my phone. No Internet at the house. Staying just outside of LA at my friend Mike's house. On the way here we rode on Route 66 out of Barstow for 20 miles until we came to a police roadblock just outside of Victorville, CA. They told us to turn around that there was a stand off up ahead and they thought there was gonna be a gun fight. The road was closed cause they did not want us to get hit by a stray bullet.
Short blog cause these keys are too small. Nightingale is a bad influence with all the fancy froo froo beer.
Ciao
Posted by Chris at 8:58 PM 0 comments
Monday, July 27, 2009
Day Eight: Vegas, 111 degrees here
We didn't do much today cause it was 111 degrees here today. We drove down to the Hoover Dam and took some photos and then came back and vegged for a while longer. We finally motivated to go to dinner early and then hit the local casino for a little more craps. Broke even. ;-)
Robby and I have decided we need to get back on the bikes, we miss it and we miss the silence.
More tomorrow. We are going to visit my friend Mike Nightingale in California. ;-)
Ciao!
Posted by Chris at 9:38 PM 0 comments
Sunday, July 26, 2009
Day Seven: Vegas!
Today was the day I introduced young Robby to many things.
1. Craps. I drew the craps table on a piece of paper after breakfast and quizzed him on possible rolls. We lounged around until afternoon and then got ready to hit the strip. Photo of us at the Casino (first time I have worn any makeup at all in a week, figured I should document that!) We had fun playing, won some, lost some. ;-)
2. Cirque Du Soleil. We got tickets to see Mystere' at Treasure Island. It was fabulous. Rob liked it a lot too. I had seen 'O' before and the tickets for it were about triple what Mystere' were so that was an easy choice. You gotta wonder what people are thinking when they design those costumes...or maybe I am just not artistic at all. The acrobatics were amazing though.
3. In and Out Burger. He had never heard of it...seriously? We ran through there on the way home and he now loves their fries. ;-) He was thrown, just like I was the first time, when they asked him at the drive up if we were gonna eat in the car. If you aren't familiar, they pack it up in an easy to eat out of tray if you say yes to eating in the car. ;-)
We didn't even start up the bikes today! What a needed rest day though. Thanks AGAIN Brenda for the use of your car. You are the best!
Tomorrow is Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam, gotta get to bed. Nite!
Posted by Chris at 11:10 PM 0 comments
Saturday, July 25, 2009
Day Six: Antelope Canyon, Bryce, and VEGAS
We started out this morning up bright and early just to find that Antelope Canyon didn't open until 9a.m. and we were on Pacific time! So we had breakfast and then just laid around the room for a couple of hours. Very much against our plan to ride before it got too hot!
We went to Antelope Canyon (which was one of my MUST DO things) and toured it. I took so many photos! I think I took 35 photos. It was gorgeous. We did the Lower Antelope Canyon because the website we looked up said you would not have a tour guide, well that must be old info, cause we had one. Then when we went through the wide spaces and then into the very tiny spaces we climbed the ladder and walked back outside. What a mistake. My fault completely. I didn't want to "swim upstream" back through the next group to get out and decided we should walk a half mile in 95 degree heat in the sand uphill. Not my best move.
The rest of the day I felt pretty out of it cause of the heat-stroke like walk we did. When we got up to Utah again and headed toward Bryce Canyon we saw that it was raining over Bryce Canyon. We took some photos outside the gate to the park and saw some sites, bought the postcards, and then headed south to Vegas. Didn't want to risk our rain-slickened roads with the whole stopping for photos all through Bryce.
The closer we got to Vegas the hotter it got. By the time we got to my friend Brenda's house we were drenched with sweat. My friend was nice enough to let us use her house in a nice community that has its own casino. We showered and got dressed up and went to the casino for dinner and then gambled. I lost 20 bucks right away on the slots and then found the one and only craps table. I taught Robby how to play and was up and down. Left even on the table. That is a good night I suppose. We are going to give it another whirl tomorrow. ;-)
We have tickets to a Cirque Du Soleil show tomorrow night and plan on sleeping in tomorrow! So nice to sleep past 6a.m. on vacation, who would have thought it?
We are up to 2494 miles!!!! OUCH. A third of the way done with our trip!
Posted by Chris at 11:08 PM 0 comments
Friday, July 24, 2009
Day Five: Arches Natl Park, 4 Corners, Page
I have had a hard time getting radio stations out here so I have listened to my mix CD at least a dozen times today, so here are the lyrics for the day:
Somewhere on a desert highway
She rides a Harley-Davidson
Her long blonde hair flyin in the wind
Shes been runnin half her life
The chrome and steel she rides
Collidin with the very air she breathes
The air she breathes.
A little Neil Young, of course my hair isn't blonde anymore and since I promised my family I would wear the helmet this whole ride, it sure isn't blowing in the wind like I would love it to do.
We started the day by forgetting to go to the gas station before we hit Arches National Park. That was dumb. We still got to see some absolutely beautiful sites and took tons of photos (posted on Facebook) throughout Arches. We ran into a couple from Quebec on their Harley that had already been out for three weeks and they had just gone through Death Valley! Crazy French people. ;-)
We headed south toward Four Corners after touring Arches. It was quite a long ride and was starting to get really hot again. Four Corners is a cool place because it is one of a kind, but like the Ball of Twine, a long drive for something that was a bit of a let down.
On the way west it started raining on us, raining hard! We were so hot it was ok though. We thought it was funny that is was pouring down on us in the desert. The roads got very very slick after the rain. I compare it to stepping down on a bowl of garlic and oil spaghetti. Twice when I stopped to take photos after the rain I almost dropped the bike when I lost my footing. Not so much fun. Robby had a hard time getting his off the kickstand (much like I had a time on Pike's Peak and he helped me) and I offered to help. He said he would rather die than have help from me getting his bike upright. ;-)
Headed to Monument Valley we stopped at a McD's for a drink and a snack and there was a native American guy selling tennis shoes or just asking for money. I said I would buy him some food, but not giving him money. He said ok, I will take a large french fry, lots of ketchup, and a large diet coke. Apparently beggars CAN be choosers. We fed him and then took off toward Monument Valley. What a gorgeous place! I think God did pretty good with this part of the world. ;-) There is a rock that looks like a mitten and it is called Mitten Rock. I told Robby that I wanted to take a picture of the Mitten Rock and he said, "geez, you are naming the rocks now!" I had to buy him a postcard that had the name of Mitten Rock on it to prove that I am not crazy.
About 400ish more miles today. We are up to 2066 miles now. I am getting to be a pro at putting on lip gloss and not going into the oncoming traffic lane now. ;-)
Still having fun! Tomorrow is Antelope Canyon and Bryce Canyon and hopefully tomorrow night ending up in VEGAS baby!
Posted by Chris at 8:18 PM 0 comments
Thursday, July 23, 2009
Day Four, Colorado to Moab, UT
I take off time to time
With those crazy friends of mine
Head out on steel horses
With wheels and we ride
Cowboys like us sure do have fun
Racin’ the wind, chasin’ the sun
Take the long way around back to square one
This song played a lot today, but it was completely the song of the day. We had such a great ride today. We are up to 1650 miles so far and right now in Moab, Utah near Arches National Park.
This morning we got up and had a nice breakfast with Julie and her family. It is so nice to stay with friends and have a home cooked meal and laughs. Thanks Jules!
We hit the road for Utah. We rode through some of the most gorgeous views I have ever seen and I have been to five continents. It was amazing. Glenwood Canyon was the tops! Unfortunately we couldn't really pull over as much as we would have liked to take photos. I think maybe we should have brought someone as a rider just to take photos! ;-)
On the west side of the Rockies it started getting very hot. Right now in Moab it is 103. Supposed to be 102 tomorrow, so that is great that it is cooler! We plan on getting out at sun up to start our journey.
Off to the MOAB Brewery right now, Mike Nightingale suggested it, how does he know where every brewery in the world is??
Posted by Chris at 6:23 PM 0 comments
Wednesday, July 22, 2009
Day Three, Colorado and Pike's Peak
This morning we headed south to Colorado Springs to go up Pike's Peak. Just as we were turning onto the Pike's Peak Highway off of Hwy 24 we saw an ambulance and several cops. There was an accident which involved a crushed motorcycle and a bloody guy laying on the road. I took this as a possible sign. Robby did not, so up we went. The first seven or so miles (of the total of 19) were paved and were really nice roads. Then we hit the dirt. We were told it was packed gravel, it was red dirt. We got behind some people in a mini van that thought the 15 MPH curves should be taken at 5 MPH, which destroys all momentum for your bike to stay upright. That was pretty bad when someone with four wheels couldn't make it around the corners any faster than that.
The road turned back to pavement at about mile marker 12 and then turned back to a sort of packed gravel around mile marker 14 or 15. We stayed in first and second gears most all the way up. The road got really really rough up near the top, the road was completely "washboarded" up near the top.
A little snow remained on the ground and it was a chilly 40 degrees up there. We stayed for a bit and had a famous Pike's Peak donut and then headed back down.
We cruised past Garden of the Gods and then off to meet my friend Jesse May that lives in Colorado Springs. We had a drink with him and then headed off to meet Jules and the kids for dinner with another friend of ours from the Postal days of flying, Erik Taylor.
It was a short mileage day, but still lots of riding and sightseeing. When we got home I took little Quinn for a Harley ride down the road, we have a great video of that I will try to post to Facebook.
We are still having fun. :-) Robby did have to help me get my bike upright from the kickstand when we parked on a weird incline today, he made sure to tell me to mention this. Since he is mentioning that though I think I should mention that he had to have help turning on the shower here at my friend's house. It is probably a good thing when we travel so far that we can't talk 90% of the time! :-)
Chris and Robby
Posted by Chris at 9:12 PM 0 comments
Tuesday, July 21, 2009
Day Two: Part Two, the siphoning mishap
Posted by Chris at 6:11 PM 0 comments
Day TWO: Part ONE, our tribute to Michael Jackson
Posted by Chris at 5:17 PM 0 comments
Monday, July 20, 2009
Kansas
Our cute photo from Kansas...since we almost got killed crossing lanes to get this photo we had to include it. :-)
Posted by Chris at 4:38 PM 0 comments
Day ONE
We left on time, strike that...Robby said we did NOT leave on time. He was ready to go and I was a mere 15 minutes late. We left his house at 720a.m. and then at 724a.m. we had to stop and retrieve my Ipod that fell off my bike. Then we stopped at the Welcome to Illinois sign to take a photo, at 729a.m. At this point Robby asked if we were ever going to make it there. :-)
At 734 Robby spotted a bunny crossing the highway and decided that was a bad omen. Fortunately it was not and we arrived in OLATHE, KS to my friend Bryan holding beers for us.
We rode 451 miles today and only about 3 of them were in the rain. We did get stopped at all the different "Welcome to" signs for the states of Illinois, Missouri, and Kansas (though Kansas required a three lane change within 500 feet to get to it in the rain!) Even though it was cloudy and cold and we even started out with layers of clothes including chaps I am already sunburned! I have FOUR bottles of sunscreen stuff in the bike, yet none on my body.
Tomorrow we head out for some MAJOR excitement to view the LARGEST BALL OF TWINE in the world. We may not be able to sleep tonight. :-)
Chris and Robby
Posted by Chris at 2:34 PM 0 comments
Sunday, July 19, 2009
All packed up and ready to GO WEST!
We are all packed up and ready to head west. ;-) Rob was just here and we took a photo of our hands for the before shot. The funny thing about riding motorcycles so far is that your fingers never get tanned and your hand is VERY tan by the time you finish. We wanted to do a before and after shot to laugh at later.
In a few minutes we are going to get together with some friends and family that want to see us off on the big voyage. I am really excited about it. Have been really pumped about the upcoming trip all day. I even rode my bike to church this morning!
I took a photo of Robby and his ride to the west coast. He wanted me to be sure to let everyone know that it is just the ride he is using to get there and that he doesn't actually ride a "geezer glider" himself. His bike is much cooler than that. :-) He is riding his dad's bike just for the radio benefits.
Off in the morning to Kansas City!
Posted by Chris at 2:16 PM 0 comments
Friday, July 17, 2009
Three days to go!
We leave in 3 days for the longest and probably toughest ride we have ever done. I have been catching up with friends all around the country that want us to pop in and visit. It should be a really fun time and I am sure we will have many photos to share.
Just got my bike out of the shop today. New back tire and oil change and you know what is funny is that we will have to have another oil change by the time we get halfway through. Our planned route is up to 6700 miles now. I think all the updates on FB will start with elapsed mileage for the next few weeks. Maybe that should be followed with a scale of 1 to 10 on how sore our rear ends are too!
A quote by T.S. Eliot to get us motivated for the BIG trip:
Only those who will risk going too far can possibly find out how far they can go.
Ciao
Posted by Chris at 5:49 PM 0 comments
Thursday, July 9, 2009
July 9th (10th where I am), T-minus 10 days to the ride.
So my friend from California told me a "terrific" route from Vegas to San Fran. I plugged it all in my mapping site and found that it cuts right through Death Valley...well, I think I mentioned that yesterday...so anyway, I am reading this book tonight on the plane and it kind of makes me think that my friend from California wants me to die a horrible burning death.
This book, Ultra Marathon Man, talks about this guy's run through Death Valley. Here is an excerpt:
"Earlier this year, a European tourist had roasted to death in the mudflats beside the road. Apparently, he had walked out to take some pictures. The coroner's report noted that the corpse's feet were severely disfigured. Poor bastard had stepped through a narrow surface crust in a layer of molten-hot mud. He'd baked to death."
Nice huh? Another joyous quote:
"Besides rattlesnakes, there were scorpions and big tarantulas to watch out for on the dark road."
Robby and I ran over several bunnies a few years ago going through Wyoming late at night and I had a problem with that cause they are so cute and well, it was gross...but I have a serious phobia of spiders...we may have to re-route and I may have to rethink my friendship with Mike Nightingale. :-)
10 more days to go!
Posted by Chris at 2:32 PM 2 comments
Wednesday, July 8, 2009
First Test-like blog
I have created this blog to share my trip out to California and back on my Harley. My good friend Robby Blagrave and I are headed out on July 20th for our 3 week, 6500 mile journey. We will try to updated this nightly about our travels for the day. Our tentative itinerary is to stay the first night in the Kansas City area visiting a friend of mine from flying and to also see eight of my cousins. We then plan on going to visit another friend of mine just south of Denver, CO the following night. If she lets us, we will stay two nights with her and get to visit with some friends around the Denver area. One of the two days we want to head up to Pike's Peak on the bikes. That should be fun and maybe we can even get a cool video of it posted. After a couple of nights in Colorado we want to head toward Southern Utah and the many parks there. Arches, Bryce Canyon, Four Corners to just name a few. I imagine even though the miles aren't many it will take us 3 days to cross Utah and make it to Vegas with all the stopping to take photos. Vegas will mean some gambling to try to pay for a our trip and some sightseeing to the Dam and Grand Canyon. Still haven't decided if we are going to ride to the Canyon or take a tour at this point.
Vegas westward to California routes us through Death Valley...yeah, I said Death Valley in late July/early August. That might be fun, but really I am thinking not. We have it planned to go through Yosemite Natl Park on a route my California friend shared with us. Our California days will include the Golden Gate Bridge, Redwoods, Sequoias, the PCH (Pacific Coast Highway), and even driving through a Redwood tree. The city of Leggett, CA has two or three trees you can drive through. That will be a Kodak (or in my case, Sony) moment!
From northern California we will head east through southern Oregon and over to Boise, ID to visit yet another one of my friends. We want him to take us jumping out of a perfectly good airplane, but we will have to see if that is going to happen or not. Crossing the gorgeous state of Wyoming will put us in Sturgis, SD just in time to catch the end of Bike Week. We plan on a few days there and then eastward bound toward home. Might get a stopover in Rockford to visit any work friends that are stuck there on the way home.
Follow along with us if you want to. It should be a helluva good time. We will also post to our facebook accounts with updates and photos too. This is my first time blogging and not sending out emails on a trip. Hope it works well. :-)
Ciao!
Posted by Chris at 12:30 PM 3 comments
